GAPMIL Global Media and Information Literacy Awards 2018

Organisation: UNESCO & Global Alliance for Partnerships on Media and Information Literacy

Apply By:  12/09/2018

Together with UNESCO, GAPMIL (Global Alliance for Partnerships on Media and Information Literacy) is seeking nominations for the GAPMIL Global MIL Awards 2018 to recognize significant work and contributions in the field of Media and Information Literacy (MIL), and will honour individuals or organizations who have demonstrated excellence and leadership in integrating MIL into their activities and practice on a local or global level.


The GAPMIL Awards will recognize information/library, media and technology specialists, educators, artists, activists, researchers, policy makers, NGOs, associations and other groups integrating MIL (media and information literacy) in an innovative way in their work and related activities. Specifically, the awards will recognize excellence and leadership in five sectors: Education, Research, Policy, Advocacy, Media and communication/information sectors.


The GAPMIL Awards are presented every year at the Global MIL Week feature conference. For 2018, the GAPMIL Awards are led by GAPMIL and the Media and Information Literacy and Intercultural Dialogue (MILID) University Network with the support of UNESCO, UNAOC, Vytautas Magnus University, and University of Latvia.


In 2018, the Global MIL Awards reflect specific areas of expertise or advocacy within these five overall categories. Nominees are expected to be champions and promoters of Media and Information Literacy (MIL) in connection with one or more of the following areas:

  • Cultural, ethnic and gender equality;
  • Diversity and pluralism;
  • Tolerance, peace and efforts aimed at countering hate;
  • Intercultural/interreligious dialogue and equality;
  • Freedom of expression, access to or right to information;
  • Privacy;
  • International cooperation on MIL.


Focus Fields:


The work of the award winners may be related to one or more of the following fields, which are central tenets of the UN Sustainable Development Goals:

  • Health
  • Peacemaking
  • Economic development
  • Environmental sustainability
  • Fundamental rights
  • Poverty reduction
  • Cultural diversity


Awards Criteria:


  • Work in any area/sector can be recognized, as long as the activities reflect integration of media and information literacy concepts, including intercultural dialogue, in education, research, policy, advocacy and the communication and information industries (including cultural industries).
  • Nominations should:
    • Describe how the nominee’s work and activities impact specific groups or society at large.
    • Describe how the nominee’s practices do influence or could influence the media and Information Literacy field at large, in a local or global context.
    • Provide links to pictures, video clips or testimonials and any other published content (if appropriate) produced by the nominee.


For more information, please visit GAPMIL Awards 2018.