Call for Papers- Workshops at InterAsian Connections VI: Hanoi


Apply By:  No Deadline

nternational Institute for Asian Studies has announced call for papers from researchers in any world region who wish to participate in one of the eight thematic workshops at InterAsian Connections VI: Hanoi, the sixth in this international conference series.

This series showcases innovative research from across the social sciences and related disciplines and explores themes that transform conventional understandings of Asia. Crossing traditional area studies boundaries and creating international and interdisciplinary networks of scholars working to theorize the intersection of the “global” and the “regional” in a variety of contexts, the conference reconceptualizes Asia as a dynamic and interconnected historical, geographical, and cultural formation stretching from West Asia through EurasiaSouth Asia and Southeast Asia to East Asia.

The conference structure and schedule have been designed to enable intensive working group interactions on a specific research theme, as well as broader interactions on topics of mutual interest and concern. Accordingly, there will be public sessions open to the full group of conference participants and additional scholars as well as closed workshop sessions.

Paper submissions are invited from junior and senior scholars, whether graduate students, faculty, or researchers in NGOs or other research organizations, for the following eight workshops:

  • Beyond the New Media: Deep Time of Networks and Infrastructural Memory in Asia
  • China’s OBOR Initiative and Its Impacts for Asian Countries
  • Divine/Transcendent Rulers of Imagined Communities: The Rise and Fall of Royal Nationhood in Asia
  • Eurasia’s Islamic Socialist Ecumene
  • Sacred Forests and Political Ecology: Cosmological Properties and Environmentality
  • Sport Mega-Events as Hubs for InterAsian Interactions
  • States of Fortification: Connecting Asia through Technologies of Food and Health
  • The Netware of the New Asian Economy under the Industrial Revolution 4.0

How to Apply

Applicants can apply online via given website.

Eligible Countries: AfghanistanAlbaniaAlgeria, American SamoaAndorraAngolaAnguilla, Antarctica, Antigua and BarbudaArgentinaArmenia, Aruba, AustraliaAustriaAzerbaijanBahamasBahrainBangladeshBarbadosBelarusBelgiumBelizeBeninBermudaBhutanBoliviaBosnia and HerzegovinaBotswana, Bouvet Island, Brazil, British Antarctic Territory, British Indian Ocean Territory, British Virgin Islands, BruneiBulgariaBurkina FasoBurundiCambodiaCameroonCanada, Canton and Enderbury Islands, Cape Verde, Cayman Islands, Central African RepublicChadChile, China, Christmas Island, Cocos or Keeling Islands, ColombiaComoros, Congo – Brazzaville, Congo – Kinshasa, Cook IslandsCosta RicaCroatiaCubaCyprusCzech RepublicCôte d’IvoireDenmarkDjibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Dronning Maud Land, East GermanyEcuadorEgyptEl Salvador, Equatorial GuineaEritreaEstoniaEthiopia, Falkland Islands, Faroe Islands, FijiFinlandFrance, French Guiana, French Polynesia, French Southern Territories, French Southern and Antarctic Territories, GabonGambiaGeorgia, Germany, Ghana, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Grenada, Guadeloupe, GuamGuatemala, Guernsey, Guinea, Guinea-BissauGuyanaHaiti, Heard Island and McDonald Islands, HondurasHong Kong SAR China, HungaryIcelandIndiaIndonesiaIranIraqIreland, Isle of Man, IsraelItalyJamaicaJapan, Jersey, Johnston Island, JordanKazakhstanKenyaKiribatiKuwaitKyrgyzstanLaosLatviaLebanonLesothoLiberiaLibyaLiechtensteinLithuaniaLuxembourgMacau SAR China, MacedoniaMadagascarMalawiMalaysiaMaldivesMaliMaltaMarshall Islands, Martinique, MauritaniaMauritius, Mayotte, Metropolitan France, MexicoMicronesia, Midway Islands, MoldovaMonacoMongoliaMontenegro, Montserrat, MoroccoMozambiqueMyanmar or Burma, NamibiaNauruNepalNetherlands, Netherlands Antilles, New CaledoniaNew ZealandNicaraguaNigerNigeria, Niue, Norfolk Island, North Korea, North Vietnam, Northern Mariana Islands, NorwayOmanPacific Islands Trust Territory, Pakistan, Palau, PalestinePanama, Panama Canal Zone, Papua New GuineaParaguay, People’s Democratic Republic of YemenPeruPhilippines, Pitcairn Islands, PolandPortugal, Puerto Rico, QatarRomaniaRussiaRwanda, Réunion, Saint Barthélemy, Saint Helena, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Martin, Saint Pierre and Miquelon, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, Saudi ArabiaSenegalSerbia, Serbia and Montenegro, SeychellesSierra LeoneSingaporeSlovakiaSloveniaSolomon Islands, Somalia, South Africa, South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands, South KoreaSpainSri LankaSudanSuriname, Svalbard and Jan Mayen, SwazilandSwedenSwitzerlandSyria, São Tomé and Príncipe, TaiwanTajikistanTanzaniaThailandTimor-LesteTogo, Tokelau, TongaTrinidad and TobagoTunisiaTurkeyTurkmenistan, Turks and Caicos Islands, Tuvalu, U.S. Minor Outlying Islands, U.S. Miscellaneous Pacific Islands, U.S. Virgin Islands, UgandaUkraine, Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, United Arab EmiratesUnited KingdomUnited StatesUruguayUzbekistanVanuatu, Vatican City, Venezuela, Vietnam, Wake Island, Wallis and Futuna, Western Sahara, Yemen, ZambiaZimbabwe

For more information, please visit IIAS.