Call for Papers- Peace in the Balkans, Peace in Europe: Lessons Learned


Apply By:  30/03/2018

Center for European Studies- EPOKA University is seeking applications for Call for Papers- Peace in the Balkans, Peace in Europe: Lessons Learned. It is the first workshop of the Center for European Studies.

This workshop aims to bring together in one platform academicians, policy makers, practitioners and Ph.D. students focused on peace studies and welcomes proposals that:

  • Present research works assessing the status of peace politics in the Western Balkan region especially in a time when peace itself is a contested concept and each society internalizes and implements it according to its own social, political and economic objectives.
  • Analyze ways of spreading peace messages in the Western Balkan Region through political institutions and other channels of communications to make it part of a general effort to change society and to create a peace culture.
  • Assess the impact of European Integration on peace politics for the region.
  • Assists related state and non-state agencies in setting agenda for peace politics.

In the current scale of globalization, peace becomes a national and international responsibility that requires coordinated action from both national and international agents. The achievement of peace is not only the absence of war, but it also requires a process of positive transformation of political, economic and social structures.


  • Human Security
  • Democratization
  • Human Rights
  • Foreign Policy
  • Regional Cooperation
  • Social Justice
  • Welfare
  • Sustainable Development
  • Environment Protection

Eligibility Criteria

  • Submissions and presentation proposals from across the world and from a wide spectrum of disciplines and perspectives are welcomed.
  • Also poster submissions, which will provide authors and participants with the ability to connect with each other and to engage in discussions about the work are also welcomed.

How to Apply

Applicants can apply online via given website.

Eligible Countries: AfghanistanAlbaniaAlgeria, American SamoaAndorraAngolaAnguilla, Antarctica, Antigua and BarbudaArgentinaArmenia, Aruba, AustraliaAustriaAzerbaijanBahamasBahrainBangladeshBarbadosBelarusBelgiumBelizeBeninBermudaBhutanBoliviaBosnia and HerzegovinaBotswana, Bouvet Island, Brazil, British Antarctic Territory, British Indian Ocean Territory, British Virgin Islands, BruneiBulgariaBurkina FasoBurundiCambodiaCameroonCanada, Canton and Enderbury Islands, Cape Verde, Cayman Islands, Central African RepublicChadChileChina, Christmas Island, Cocos or Keeling Islands, ColombiaComoros, Congo – Brazzaville, Congo – Kinshasa, Cook IslandsCosta RicaCroatiaCubaCyprusCzech RepublicCôte d’IvoireDenmarkDjibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Dronning Maud Land, East GermanyEcuadorEgyptEl Salvador, Equatorial GuineaEritreaEstoniaEthiopia, Falkland Islands, Faroe Islands, FijiFinlandFrance, French Guiana, French Polynesia, French Southern Territories, French Southern and Antarctic Territories, GabonGambiaGeorgia, Germany, Ghana, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Grenada, Guadeloupe, GuamGuatemala, Guernsey, Guinea, Guinea-BissauGuyanaHaiti, Heard Island and McDonald Islands, HondurasHong Kong SAR China, HungaryIcelandIndiaIndonesiaIranIraqIreland, Isle of Man, IsraelItalyJamaicaJapan, Jersey, Johnston Island, JordanKazakhstanKenyaKiribatiKuwaitKyrgyzstanLaosLatviaLebanonLesothoLiberiaLibyaLiechtensteinLithuaniaLuxembourgMacau SAR China, MacedoniaMadagascarMalawiMalaysiaMaldivesMaliMaltaMarshall Islands, Martinique, MauritaniaMauritius, Mayotte, Metropolitan France, MexicoMicronesia, Midway Islands, MoldovaMonacoMongoliaMontenegro, Montserrat, MoroccoMozambiqueMyanmar or Burma, NamibiaNauruNepalNetherlands, Netherlands Antilles, New CaledoniaNew ZealandNicaraguaNigerNigeria, Niue, Norfolk Island, North Korea, North Vietnam, Northern Mariana Islands, NorwayOmanPacific Islands Trust Territory, Pakistan, Palau, PalestinePanama, Panama Canal Zone, Papua New GuineaParaguay, People’s Democratic Republic of YemenPeruPhilippines, Pitcairn Islands, PolandPortugal, Puerto Rico, QatarRomaniaRussiaRwanda, Réunion, Saint Barthélemy, Saint Helena, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Martin, Saint Pierre and Miquelon, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, Saudi ArabiaSenegalSerbia, Serbia and Montenegro, SeychellesSierra LeoneSingaporeSlovakiaSloveniaSolomon Islands, Somalia, South Africa, South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands, South KoreaSpainSri LankaSudanSuriname, Svalbard and Jan Mayen, SwazilandSwedenSwitzerlandSyria, São Tomé and Príncipe, TaiwanTajikistanTanzaniaThailandTimor-LesteTogo, Tokelau, TongaTrinidad and TobagoTunisiaTurkeyTurkmenistan, Turks and Caicos Islands, Tuvalu, U.S. Minor Outlying Islands, U.S. Miscellaneous Pacific Islands, U.S. Virgin Islands, UgandaUkraine, Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, United Arab EmiratesUnited KingdomUnited StatesUruguayUzbekistanVanuatu, Vatican City, Venezuela, Vietnam, Wake Island, Wallis and Futuna, Western Sahara, Yemen, ZambiaZimbabwe.

For more information, please visit EPOKA.