Applications Open for Commonwealth Shared Scholarships!


Apply By:  17/04/2018

Applications are open for Commonwealth Shared Scholarships that are funded by the UK Department for International Development (DFID). The Commonwealth Shared Scholarships enable talented and motivated individuals to gain the knowledge and skills required for sustainable development, and are aimed at those who could not otherwise afford to study in the UK.

Themes Areas

  • Science and technology for development
  • Strengthening health systems and capacity
  • Promoting global prosperity
  • Strengthening global peace, security and governance
  • Strengthening resilience and response to crises
  • Access, inclusion and opportunity

Eligibility Criteria

To apply for these scholarships, applicants must:

  • Be a citizen of or have been granted refugee status by an eligible Commonwealth country, or be a British Protected Person
  • Be permanently resident in an eligible Commonwealth country
  • Be available to start their academic studies in the UK by the start of the UK academic year in September/October 2018
  • By October 2018, hold a first degree of at least upper second class (2:1) standard, or a second class degree and a relevant postgraduate qualification (usually a Master’s degree)
  • Not have studied or worked for one (academic) year or more in a high income country
  • Be unable to afford to study in the UK without this scholarship

How to Apply

Applicants must submit their applications by using the CSC’s Electronic Application System (EAS) given on the website.

Eligible CountriesBangladeshCameroonGhanaGuyanaIndiaKenyaKiribatiLesothoMalawiMozambiqueNigeriaPakistan, Papua New GuineaRwandaSamoaSierra LeoneSolomon IslandsSri LankaSwazilandTanzania, Tuvalu, UgandaVanuatuZambia.

For more information, please visit Commonwealth Shared Scholarships.