Applications Open For 2018 Iqbal Masih Award For The Elimination Of Child Labor

Organisation: United States Department of Labour

Apply By:  26/06/2018


The award was created in response to Senate Committee direction that the Secretary of Labor “establish an annual non-monetary award recognizing the extraordinary efforts by an individual, company, organization or national government toward the reduction of the worst forms of child labor.”


The Iqbal Masih Award was named after a Pakistani child who was sold into slavery as a carpet weaver at age 4, escaped at 10 and became an outspoken public advocate against child exploitation. In 1994 he received the Reebok Human Rights Award. He was tragically killed a year later at the age of 13 in his native Pakistan.




The award’s two major goals are:


  • To honor and give public recognition to a recipient demonstrating extraordinary efforts to combat the worst forms of child labor internationally, and who shares qualities demonstrated by Iqbal Masih including leadership, courage, integrity, and a search to end the labor exploitation of children
  • To raise awareness about the worst forms of child labor internationally


Eligibility Criteria


  • You may nominate an individual, a company, an organization, or a national government.
  • To submit a nomination, you must be either the nominee or another person or entity acting with the knowledge and permission of the nominee.
  • Note that prior receipt of this award will not preclude a nominee from being considered for the Iqbal Masih Award in subsequent years.
  • However, specific accomplishments that served as the basis of a prior award may not be considered as the basis for a subsequent award application.
  • The U.S. Department of Labor will also consider nominees from previous years that were deemed responsive but not yet selected for award. You may in such cases submit updated nomination packages for previous nominees.


How to Apply


Applicants can apply via given website.

For further information, please visit U.S. Department of Labor.